Chair of Public Economics
Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster

Professor Stefan Bauernschuster

Stefan Bauernschuster is Professor of Public Economics at the University of Passau since 2013. He is also Research Professor at the Ifo Institute Munich, CESifo Research Fellow, IZA Research Fellow and a member of the committee for social policy of the German Economic Association. Before moving to Passau, Stefan Bauernschuster was deputy head of the research area Social Policy and Labour Markets at the Ifo Institute Munich. He holds a PhD in Economics from the Friedrich Schiller University Jena, where he participated in the Research Training Group "The Economics of Innovative Change" funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).

In his research, Stefan Bauernschuster typically uses micro-econometric methods to answer policy relevant questions in the fields of labor, population, health and education economics. His research has been published in journals such as the American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, the Journal of the European Economic Association, or the Journal of Public Economics.

Personal website

Research Professor at the ifo Institute Munich

As a Research Professor at the ifo Center for Labour and Demographic Economics, Stefan Bauernschuster regularly cooperates with researcher of the ifo Institute. Recently, he was involved in a project for the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, titled Germany 2017 – A Study about Attitudes and Behaviour in Unified Germany. The study analyses attitudes towards political, family, labor and social issues and their development in East and West Germany since Unification. In June 2019, this project was awarded by the Ifo Institute with the Prize for Exceptional Achievement in Third-party Funded Research.

http://www.cesifo-group.de/ifoHome/research/Departments/Social-Policy-and-Labour-Markets.html

CESifo Research Fellow

Professor Bauernschuster is research fellow of the CESifo network. The CESifo network is one of the biggest and most renowned networks of economists worldwide. Due to a series of own working papers and the organization of numerous conferences it brings together economists from all over the world.

https://www.cesifo-group.de/ifoHome/research/Network/Members.html

IZA Research Fellow

Professor Bauernschuster has joined the IZA network as a Research Fellow. The Institute of Labor Economics (IZA), established in 1998, is a non-profit research center in labor economics supported by the Deutsche Post Foundation. IZA is widely recognized as a leading institute for labor market research, which includes original and internationally competitive research in all fields of labor economics. On this Basis, it develops policy concepts and disseminates findings to the scientific community and the general public. The network is based on a dynamic local team in Bonn (Germany) and cooperates as the world's largest network of labor economists with established senior researchers (research fellows) and junior researchers (research affiliates). 

https://www.iza.org/de/people/fellows/7096/stefan-bauernschuster

Member of the standing committee for social policy

Professor Bauernschuster is a member of the standing committee for Social Policy of the German Economic Association. The committee for Social Policy was founded in 1968 and deals with topics such as social insurance, income distribution, and labour market policies. It is a part of the German Economic Association, the biggest and oldest association of German economists and one of the biggest and oldest associations of economists in the world. The committee consists of about 50 members. The members get together for a conference once a year to present and discuss their current research projects. 

http://www.iaw.edu/index.php/ausschuss-fuer-sozialpolitik

Lehrstuhl für Public Economics
Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster

Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster

Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster ist seit 2013 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Public Economics an der Universität Passau. Darüber hinaus ist er Forschungsprofessor am ifo Institut München, Research Fellow des CESifo Netzwerks, Research Fellow des IZA Bonn und Mitglied des Ausschusses für Sozialpolitik beim Verein für Socialpolitik. Vor seinem Ruf an die Universität Passau war Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster stellvertretender Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Sozialpolitik und Arbeitsmärkte am ifo Institut München. Er hat an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena in Volkswirtschaftslehre promoviert, wo er Stipendiat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) im Graduiertenkolleg "The Economics of Innovative Change" war.

In seiner Forschung verwendet Stefan Bauernschuster typischerweise mikroökonometrische Methoden, um politikrelevante Fragen aus den Bereichen Arbeitsmarkt-, Bevölkerungs-, Gesundheit- und Bildungsökonomik zu beantworten. Seine Forschungsarbeiten wurden in Zeitschriften wie dem American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, dem Journal of the European Economic Association oder dem Journal of Public Economics publiziert.

Persönliche Website

Master Seminar Umweltökonomik WS 2019/20

Der Lehrstuhl für Public Economics bietet im Wintersemester 2019/20 ein Blockseminar zum Thema "Umweltökonomik" (Prüfungsnummer 35866) an. Das Seminar wird in Englischer Sprache abgehalten. Bewerben können sich alle Masterstudenten des Studiengangs International Economics and Business mit Grundkenntnissen in Mikroökonomik und Statisitk/Ökonometrie.

Wenn Sie an einer Teilnahme interessiert sind, reichen Sie bitte ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen (persönlich oder per E-Mail an christa.listlatuni-passau.de) bis Freitag, 26. Juli 2019, 12.00 Uhr Mittag beim Lehrstuhl ein. Verwenden Sie bitte folgendes Bewerbungsformular. Weitere Informationen zu den Themen des Seminars finden Sie hier.

Nach Auswahl der Teilnehmer wird eine gesonderte Informationsveranstaltung abgeboten werden, in welcher die Themen des Seminars kurz vorgestellt werden. Nach dieser Veranstaltung können Sie dann auch Themenpräferenzen angeben.

Forschungsprofessor am ifo Institut München

Als Forschungsprofessor des ifo Zentrums für Arbeitsmarkt- und Bevölkerungsökonomik arbeitet Professor Bauernschuster regelmäßig an gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten mit Mitarbeitern des ifo Instituts. Zuletzt war er an einem Projekt für das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie beteiligt, das den Titel Deutschland 2017 – Studie zu den Einstellungen und Verhaltensweisen der Bürgerinnen und Bürger im vereinigten Deutschland trägt. Die zentrale Frage des Projekts ist, in wie weit sich Einstellungen von Ost- und Westdeutschen zu Politik, Familie, Arbeit und Sozialem seit der Wiedervereinigung angeglichen haben. Das Projekt wurde im Juni 2019 mit dem Drittmittelpreis des ifo Instituts ausgezeichnet.

http://www.cesifo-group.de/de/ifoHome/research/Departments/Social-Policy-and-Labour-Markets.html

CESifo Research Fellow

Professor Bauernschuster ist Research Fellow des CESifo Netzwerks. Das CESifo Netzwerk ist eines der weltweit größten und bekanntesten Netzwerke von Ökonomen. Es verbindet Ökonomen aus der ganzen Welt durch eine eigene Arbeitspapier-Reihe und die Organisation zahlreicher Konferenzen.

https://www.cesifo-group.de/de/ifoHome/research/Network/Members.html

IZA Research Fellow

Professor Bauernschuster beteiligt sich als Research Fellow am Netzwerk des IZA Bonn. Das 1998 gegründete Institut für Arbeitsforschung (IZA) ist ein gemeinnütziges Forschungszentrum für Arbeitsökonomie mit Unterstützung der Deutsche Post Stiftung. Das IZA steht für originäre und international wettbewerbsfähige Forschung in allen Bereichen der Arbeitsökonomik, entwickelt auf dieser Grundlage politische Konzepte und verbreitet die Ergebnisse in der wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft und der breiten Öffentlichkeit. Das IZA Netzwerk basiert auf einem dynamischen lokalen Team in Bonn (Deutschland) und kooperiert als das weltweit größte Netzwerk von Arbeitsökonomen mit namhaften etablierten Ökonomen (Research Fellows) und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern (Research Affiliates).
 
https://www.iza.org/de/people/fellows/7096/stefan-bauernschuster

Mitglied des Ausschusses für Sozialpolitik

Professor Bauernschuster ist Mitglied des Ausschusses für Sozialpolitik. Der Ausschuss für Sozialpolitik wurde 1968 gegründet und befasst sich unter anderem mit Fragen der Sozialversicherung, der Einkommensverteilung und der Arbeitsmarktpolitik. Er ist ein Teil des Vereins für Socialpolitik, der größten Vereinigung deutschsprachigen Wirtschaftswissenschaftler und einer der größten und ältesten Ökonomenverbände der Welt ist. Der Ausschuss besteht aus circa 50 Mitgliedern. Er trifft sich einmal im Jahr im Rahmen einer wissenschaftlichen Konferenz, auf der Mitglieder ihre neuesten Forschungsprojekte vorstellen und diskutieren. 

http://www.iaw.edu/index.php/ausschuss-fuer-sozialpolitik